I Am Not Broken, I Am Free – Pariah

The movie Pariah, now out on DVD, Blu-Ray and iTunes, is a coming of age story about a Brooklyn teenager, Alike (ah-lee-kay), struggling with her sexual identity. I don’t want to diminish the movie’s story line in anyway by being so brief in my description; no, but I would like to share a piece from the movie. The following poem is written (in the film) by Alike once she finds her voice and embraces her identity as a lesbian. It is quite powerful and simply beautiful.

 

Heartbreak opens onto the sunrise
For even breaking is opening
And I am broken
I’m open
Broken to the new light without pushing in
Open to the possibilities within, pushing out
See the love shine in through my cracks?
See the light shine out through me?
I  am broken
I am open
I am broken open
See the love light shining through me
Shining through my cracks
Through the gaps
My spirit takes journey
My spirit takes flight
Could not have risen otherwise
And I am not running
I’m choosing
Running is not a choice from the breaking
Breaking is freeing
Broken is freedom
I am not broken
I’m free.
                                 ~ Spoken by Alike (Adepero Oduye)
                                     Written by Dee Rees

I love this pic of Adepero Oduye, she has beautiful bone structure.

4 responses to “I Am Not Broken, I Am Free – Pariah

  1. Poet Tgensis

    This poem is undoubtedly one of my favorite poems the words to this poem a very strong indeed and give rebirth to those in need of clarity.

  2. Jeanine Reeves

    This poem is liberation spoken through words…it is powerful and deep; the discovery of one’s freedom to live life!

Leave a comment