ITCHING! Help!

Ooh, looky here… it’s past one o’clock in the morning and I’m still up! Not reading, or watching a movie or listening to music or anything pleasurable like that… no, I’m up itching! Ugh! I’m going to buy a scalpel and cut all the way down to the subcutaneous fat layer of skin or the subcutis for short, and then peel it all off! Sounds gross, eh? I don’t care, I can’t take this shit anymore! There has to be something that can be done about this incessant itching. Ya know, I don’t think my rheumatologist takes me very seriously when I say I want to cut my skin off. As awesome as he is, sometimes I think I’m invisible to him. When tiny cuts manifest themselves on my fingertips from seemingly nowhere, thanks to my Raynaud’s, he says “wear gloves”. Um, yeah, ok. That’s ok in the winter, to a certain extent, but in the spring, summer and fall seasons, it’s just not feasible. But I digress. Back to the itching and my invisibility, my doctor prescribed Loratadine which does absolutely nothing and I take so much Benadryl that sometimes I think my body has become immune to it. I guess I’ll just sit here and scratch myself raw. Ugh!

2 responses to “ITCHING! Help!

  1. I feel for you — the itching drives me mad as well. Thankfully mine is relatively confined and responds to Cortisone cream. I hope you find something that helps!!

  2. Thanks so much! It feels good to know that I’m not alone but at the same time I hate that others have to suffer. I would never wish this on my worst enemy… Actually, I don’t even have any enemies, but if I did… Well, you get the gist.

    Lenette😉

Leave a Reply

