Today I cried…

I suffered a Trimalleolar Fracture (ankle fractured in three places), on May 19th, 2012, during my first roller derby bout. I will write more about that day in a separate post. I did not cry when I broke my ankle nor have I cried since, that is until today. While I have been in pain since my surgery on May 20th, 2012, I have remained upbeat and have not allowed any self-pitying. FYI: I’m usually late to the pity party and sometimes I don’t even show up.

Fast forward to today. I had a follow-up appointment with my surgeon today and after a look at my x-ray, the doctor says that my ankle is healing up nicely. So far, so good. That is until they removed my cast and revealed the nasty Frankenstein leg that has been a part of me for the last few weeks. Eew. I couldn’t see my ankle very well (bad angle), but I did take a few pics. This is what the thing looks like:

20120531-011542.jpg

I was still doing relatively well. Smiling while talking to Dr. Balazsy and Dr. Kim. Only slightly grimacing as I had to hold my ankle at a 90 degree angle while Dr. Balazsy applied my hot pink cast. I hopped out of there with my new cast and Hello Kitty crutches with the help of my most handsome and capable son Eric. We don’t really get along (too much alike), but Eric has helped me tremendously! I don’t know what I would do without him.

I’m home now, and as I looked at these pics I couldn’t help but cry. When I mentioned to Dr. Balazsy that I had finalized plans to go to Miami for my 40th birthday in August, he told me that I probably won’t be able to do a lot of walking without my ankle swelling. I think that put me over the edge. I have finally realized that I really fucked my ankle up! I injured myself doing something that I love to do and I have no regrets. That being said, I can’t help but feel sad for all of the time that I’m about to lose in rehabilitating this ankle. I’ve already been on bedrest since my surgery on May 20th and I don’t forsee a whole lot of activity in the near future. So, here I lay, leg elevated, body medicated and mind reeling. I’ll be better tomorrow, but today I cried…

7 responses to “Today I cried…

  1. I’m so sorry for you…but be strong!!!!

  2. Wszystko będzie OK

  3. Thank you for those kind words.

  4. @Matteo Thank You so much!

  5. @Peter Engel Dziękuję

  6. 😦 Hang in there, it will be a long road but I know you’re strong enough to endure and overcome.

  7. Thank you For your support Brooke. You have been so Awesome. I couldn’t ask for a better teammate!

Leave a Reply

