Itching!! ARGH!!

I am itching so bad right now I can hardly bare it! Trying not to cry but I can’t help it! There are far worse things to have and I appreciate that. However, it doesn’t really help me out at all, to know that there is someone out there worse than me! All I can think of is this incessant itching and the desire to take a scalpel and cut my skin off!! So, I’m wondering, is this a side affect of Plaquenil (the antimalarial I take to help with my Lupus and RA)? Can’t be sure. Does this mean something bad is happening with my kidneys? I will have to make an appointment with my Nephrologist to be sure. What I do know is that I feel like I’m going crazy! Like there are little things crawling all over my skin. I am itching inside and outside my body! Does that make any sense? Can you imagine being in a body cast (head to toe) and not being able to get at an itch? That’s exactly how I feel right now! Oh, and yes, I have taken Cyproheptadine and it’s not helping. It’s only 2:30pm, I’m not ready to end my Saturday just yet but I may have to. If the Cyproheptadine doesn’t start working soon I will be forced to take many Benadryl. Not a typo, I said MANY! The doctor has advised me against this in the past but he really didn’t have any suggestions that have actually worked so, I’ll just go to sleep for a long time….

4 responses to “Itching!! ARGH!!

  1. lupusadventurer

    Itching can be a sign of organ involvement. I suggest you get in to the doctor for blood and urine tests. Hang in there!

  2. Have you tried Loratadine? That’s what I’ve been using and I find it helps me better than Benadryl. Although it takes an hour or so to kick in and only lasts about 12 hours and you’re only “supposed” to take one a day…. I figure at least it’s a few hours of not scratching the skin off my face/ass/legs/feet…. and it’s non-drowsy too.

  3. Yes, I have tried Loratadine. Unfortunately, it doesn’t work well for me either. It may be all in my head. I get so stressed out. I am really going through some things, not only the physical stuff but a lot of emotional issues. I’ve been in therapy for two years. I really appreciate your advice though. If you think of anything else, please tell me.

    Lenette 😉

  4. Thanks my dear. I actually have lab work every 2 to 3 months. It’s funny, when I’m not in my Rheumatologist’s face, I have flare up after flare up. As soon as my appointment comes around, no flare. I’ve been taking pics the whole while though, so he gets to see exactly what I’m talking about and knows that I’m not making things up.

Leave a Reply

