2010 Census… What? No “Colored” category?!?

I just received my census today and I was surprised to see a box with the following choices: Black, African American or Negro. Seriously?!? WTF?!? Okay, I can understand that some people may identify with “Black” and that some other people identify with “African American”…. but who the hell is identifying with “NEGRO”?!? Was the Government right in assuming that there would be an uproar from those lone “Negroes” still identifying as such? I mean, if that’s the case, why isn’t “Colored” one of the choices? Or “Mulatto”? Or “Quadroon”? Or “Octoroon”? Is this 2010 or 1810? Which box is my President supposed to check? And did anyone run this past President Obama, ya know, like a rough draft before it was printed and mailed out to millions of people? I’m just saying….

Oh, here’s another thing I just noticed: where is Arab, Middle Eastern, Afghan, Israeli, Egyptian, Aborigine and Greek? Are they all white? How is that fair that ALL of those different races get to check white? Do you really think that they’re going to check “Other Asian” or “Some other race” and fill in the blank? Not to mention that Irish, Polish, German, Russian and Australian have been checking white all along. Okay, they “look” white for the most part. What happened to the “European” distinction? Exactly! It went the way of the 8 track player… GONE!! Think about it, if “White” still had the distinction of “European”, then Arab, Middle Eastern and Israeli would NOT be able to check that box!!

And why are there so many fucking choices for Hispanic, Latino or Spanish Origin?
Here are their choices:
Hispanic
Latino
Spanish Origin
Mexican
Mexican American
Chicano
Puerto Rican
Cuban
Argentinean
Colombian
Dominican
Nicaraguan
Salvadoran
Spaniard

What the hell?!? Seriously!!

2 responses to “2010 Census… What? No “Colored” category?!?

  1. Lenette, I didn’t get a chance to see the census form before my wife filled it out and mailed it in. I had no idea how ridiculous the form was. Why didn’t they just go ahead and throw in Uruguayan, Chilean, Bolivian, Panamanian, Costa Rican, Guatemalan, blah blah blah blah. I’m “white” with freckles, and I sunburn easily, and I’ve got vitiligo on my arms (yuck). Where’s my box to check?

  2. Lenette Graham

    I know Arthur! You should totally have a box! And Italians should have a box!! They totally should! I have Italian friends who are very proud to be Italian, but.. no box for them. I just don’t understand how such obscure choices as Nicaraguan and Salvadoran are there and Italian, Afghan and Israeli are not on there. I can check more than a couple of boxes myself and just call it a day…. I’m not saying that I plan on doing that… no, I’ll be a good American Citizen and check the box that best describes my family here on this little patch of land in Sterling Heights.

Leave a Reply

