Pretty woman….

I have come across some unsavory photographs of a beautiful, creative, intelligent, young woman named Monica Leon or “Danger” to fans of the VH1 reality show “For the Love of Ray J”.  I will not post them here or anywhere for that matter, I am NOT into exploitation!! But I am very sad that this young woman felt the need to “go there”. I can understand a woman taking pics for her husband/lover/significant other, but not for a photographer to further their own career by posting them on the internet. She may have received $1,000 if she was lucky!bw I hope that she received more than that and is still receiving residuals from the publication of her photographs.

I made a snide remark on Twitter that I love when unknowns sign model releases, and in actuality I do love it! But, I am torn. I see myself when I look at this young, creative woman. Her appearance, some of her personality traits and her devil-may-care attitude reminds me of myself when I was that age. I’m still shaking my head over this one. I don’t think that anyone pulled the wool over her eyes. On the contrary, I believe she was just like “Eff the world and everyone in it! I am going to do me and I don’t give a damn what anyone has to say about it!”  I named this post pretty woman because “Danger” recently disclosed in a radio interview that she has been a prostitute in the past….. “Oh! No wonder!” you say… It’s not that cut and dry.

I have had a close relationship with a prostitute, so I know how hard a decision that is for a women to make. I also have known a couple of women that had no problem deciding to sell  their bodies, almost like it was a given. I could NEVER sell myself, I have way too many God-given talents! That would be like me giving God the finger. Oh no! Never that! But let’s get into the head of a prostitute…. 

How, you ask? Well, remember my first post? Back when I said that I was going to tell my mother’s story? Yup, you guessed it! My Mommy was a hooker/prostitute/lady of the evening… whatever terminology that you feel comfortable with, they all mean the same damn thing. I get really sad when I think about it, so for me to write about it is going to take a lot of courage. See? I am already crying! I need to compose myself and gather my thoughts…….I’ll be back….

L;-)

Leave a Reply

